<body>





Poems
2004-03-07 @ 1103412174


Poems that I've written

This is a collection of my favourite poems::

Understated

I guess I left you understated
I guess I pushed you around
Feelings loved are feelings hated
Once I helped the sun off the ground

I saw the devil in this mirror
Smiling at no one but himself
He smells the fear inside her
Of simple lies he just can't help

Silent dreams are knocking at my door
A door that I can't open
You're just a sound I choose to ignore
It's simple to suffer, with no more hoping

If you said you'd die in my arms tonight
Could I call you on that bluff?
Leave me to find a raindrop that's right
When I just can't strain enough

So here I sit
I'm a little drained
Covered and stained
Of all you left
All you prayed
For all that'd stay
Till the bitter end
And understated friend

Call this bottle your only friend
It's tears seep into your mouth
Joining with your eyes until you can't stand
And fall along the stairs in your empty house

Can you remember when
Our screams were only whispers
Can you see back then
Our lies were over-circulated whispers

Let's sit together
While our world falls down
Smoke of the past shadows the weather
While I smile at fears that drown

Call this the last goodbye
I'll ever send myself
I don't wish to listen, so I hide
You know I really need your help

So here I sit
I'm a little untrained
Covered and stained
Of all you left
All you prayed
For all that'd stay
Till the bitter end
And understated friend

AJ Reeves, 2004

Green Eyes

Lying on her bed,
Trying to clear her head
Outside she's crying,
Internally dieing.
As I watch her,
A tear begins to stir.
She's not even grown,
But she feels so alone.
Her self-esteem is failing
Because her dad keeps yelling
Her man is cheating.
Love is misleading.
Her life seems, a curse.
But she knows is could be worse.
She has an addiction.
Not one of prediction.
Many across the nation,
Use self-mutilation.
So does she,
Because no one can see
All the pain inside,
She's forced to hide.
Behind her eyes of green,
Is a pain never seen.
There is a cut on her wrist,
For everyone she has missed.
Every guy that has done her wrong
Has made her less strong
As she searches for her blade
All my senses fade.
She looks so familiar.
It seems like I know her
I look at her wrist,
As she clenches her fist.
I look at her face.
She is staring into space
Her eyes are full of tears
It seems she has no fears
As I watch the blood run down
All I can do is frown.
Frown on the girl,
Whose life is in a whirl.
I sympathize,
For that girl with the green eyes.
But what a surprise to see,
That girl is me!

~*~FOX~*~

When We Two Parted

When we two parted
In silence and tears,
Half broken-hearted
To sever for years,
Pale grew thy cheek and cold,
Colder thy kiss;
Truly that hour foretold
Sorrow to this.

The dew of the morning
Sunk chill on my brow-
To felt like the warning
Of what I feel now.
Thy vows are all broken,
And light is thy fame;
I hear thy name spoken,
And share in its shame.

They name thee before me,
A knell to mine ear;
A shudder comes o'er me-
Why wert thou so dear?
They know not I knew thee,
Who knew thee too well -
Long, long shall I rue thee,
Too deeply to tell.

In secret we met -
In silence I grieve,
That thy heart could forget,
Thy spirit deceive.
If I should meet thee
After long years,
How should I greet thee? -
With silence and tears.

George Gordon

Sudden Light

I have been here before,
But when or how I cannot tell:
I know the grass beyond the door,
The sweet keen smell,
The sighing sound, the lights around the shore.

You have been mine before,
How long ago I may not know:
But just when at that swallow's soar
Your neck turned so,
Some veil did fall - I knew it all of yore.

Has this been thus before?
And shall not thus time's eddying flight
Still with our lives our love restore
In death's despite,
And day and night yield one delight once more?

Dante Gabriel Rossetti

Sicken Me

Sicken me,
Once again.
With all your words,
You just said.
Scream, scream little girl,
Thats it.
Dont just sit,
Your seething little girl.
Thats it...
Sit with me and release all that built up sh**,
You can spit it all out little girl.
Mind games you play,
Whose fault was that?
Me, me, or he?
Do you ever point that finger at yourself,
Sweet, pretty girl?
Ever contimplate the start little girl?
As those pills, in you, out you.
Close your tiny little eyes.
Makes you sleep little gurl.
No worry of all of your lies.
Here the blackness chokes them all out,
Here your by yourself.
Your lying awake, just staring at that space between you, nothing and everything.
Your crying now little girl.
Guess those smiles you flash are over-rated.
Was that your protective shell you put on?
Body armor to keep out all those reality bombs?
Now go on ahead,
Lie there,
Dont get out of your bed,
We'll feed you little girl.
All the bullsh** that is in need,
We'll tell you how you feel,
And what you can't exceed.
Your tongue so tired?
Your body on auto?
Your thoughts scattered?
Need help putting them together?
I loved you little girl,
You meant the world.
Now a chunk of you is gone.
You've already built your walls,
Blocking me from you.
No longer can I help,
In truth i never could.
I loved you little girl.
So you are down,
So was I.
You wont always be able to see me,
That is the work of time.
Next year I'm gone,
But rest assure, your memory is mine.

Kate Sweeney

previous - next